Although car accidents often last only seconds, filing an insurance claim or lawsuit for compensation can take weeks or even months. Having access to your official Utah Accident Report can not only increase your chances of a higher settlement but also expedite the process.
If you were involved in a collision in the Beehive State, no matter how minor, you should always contact local law enforcement to file an accident report. The responding officer will take down the essential details regarding your accident. They’ll then file the report with the Utah Department of Public Safety. Once the report is filed, you can request an official copy.
According to the Utah state law, any driver involved in a collision must report it to police if any of the following occur as a direct result:
Failure to report an accident under these parameters is considered a class C misdemeanor in Utah. You could face license suspension for neglecting to report an accident if required.
If you were in an accident that involved injuries, a death, or at least $2,500 in property damage, you must file a report with the Department of Public Safety within ten days of the accident. Police offers are also required to file their accident report within ten days after completing their investigation of the accident.
Once the report has been filed you can typically receive the report instantly by ordering it electronically or by reaching out to the Utah Highway Patrol office in the area where the accident happened.
An official Utah Accident Report should contain pertinent details regarding your crash, such as:
Under Utah law, you don’t have to file a report unless the crash meets the previously listed parameters. That said, it can be much more difficult to file a lawsuit or an insurance claim without an official crash report. That’s why you should contact the local police after any accident, no matter how minor.
If the other driver involved in your accident doesn’t want to contact the police, you should still do so. If they decide to flee the scene before officers arrive, try to gather any information possible before they depart.
Never attempt to chase another driver after they flee the scene of a crash. This could potentially result in another accident or traffic violation. Instead, remain at the scene and wait for the police to arrive and take down a report.
You can request a copy of your accident report through the Utah Department of Public Safety’s website. Unfortunately, there is a charge for copies of the report. For 1-10 pages, the department will charge you $5. For 11-15 pages, they charge $25. They also charge fifty cents per page for any additional pages.
The good news is, you can request a completely FREE copy of your official Utah Accident Report right here, at absolutely zero cost to you.